Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

 

JOIN US

Plan Your 2018 Holidays

As most of us get back to work after the Christmas break, January is a great time of year to start considering when to take annual leave.

man_in_hammock.jpg

Below is a list of public holidays by state to help you plan your leave for 2018.

Remember, in 2016 the Fair Work Commission brought in new rules around requesting annual leave from your employer. Depending on how much annual leave you have accrued, your employer cannot refuse your request for annual leave. You can read the full details here.

As your union, we strongly recommend that you take your leave. It is important for your health and a critical part of making you a productive employee. The best strategy is to plan your leave early, so start planning those holidays for 2018!

 

ACT

1 Jan Mon New Year's Day

26 Jan Fri Australia Day

12 Mar Mon Canberra Day

30 Mar Fri Good Friday

31 Mar Sat Day following Good Friday

1 Apr Sun Easter Sunday

2 Apr Mon Easter Monday

25 Apr Wed Anzac Day

28 May Mon Reconciliation Day

11 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

1 Oct Mon Labour Day

25 Dec Tue Christmas Day

26 Dec Wed Boxing Day

 

NSW

1 Jan Mon New Year's Day

26 Jan Fri Australia Day

30 Mar Fri Good Friday

31 Mar Sat Day following Good Friday

1 Apr Sun Easter Sunday

2 Apr Mon Easter Monday

25 Apr Wed Anzac Day

11 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

1 Oct Mon Labour Day

25 Dec Tue Christmas Day

26 Dec Wed Boxing Day

 

 

VIC

1 Jan Mon New Year's Day

26 Jan Fri Australia Day

12 Mar Mon Labour Day

30 Mar Fri Good Friday

31 Mar Sat Day following Good Friday

1 Apr Sun Easter Sunday

2 Apr Mon Easter Monday

25 Apr Wed Anzac Day

11 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

28 Sep Fri AFL Grand Final Friday

6 Nov Tue Melbourne Cup Day *

25 Dec Tue Christmas Day

26 Dec Wed Boxing Day

 

 

QLD

1 Jan Mon New Year's Day

26 Jan Fri Australia Day

30 Mar Fri Good Friday

31 Mar Sat Day following Good Friday

1 Apr Sun Easter Sunday

2 Apr Mon Easter Monday

25 Apr Wed Anzac Day

7 May Mon Labour Day

15 Aug Wed Ekka Wednesday *

1 Oct Mon Queen's Birthday

25 Dec Tue Christmas Day

26 Dec Wed Boxing Day

 

WA

1 Jan Mon New Year's Day

26 Jan Fri Australia Day

5 Mar Mon Labour Day

30 Mar Fri Good Friday

2 Apr Mon Easter Monday

25 Apr Wed Anzac Day

4 Jun Mon Western Australia Day

24 Sep Mon Queen's Birthday

25 Dec Tue Christmas Day

26 Dec Wed Boxing Day

 

TAS

1 Jan Mon New Year's Day

10 Jan Wed Devonport Cup

26 Jan Fri Australia Day

12 Feb Mon Royal Hobart Regatta

28 Feb Wed Launceston Cup

6 Mar Tue King Island Show

12 Mar Mon Eight Hours Day

 

SA

1 Jan Mon New Year's Day

26 Jan Fri Australia Day

12 Mar Mon March Public Holiday

30 Mar Fri Good Friday

31 Mar Sat Day following Good Friday

2 Apr Mon Easter Monday

25 Apr Wed Anzac Day

11 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

1 Oct Mon Labour Day

24 Dec Mon Christmas Eve *

25 Dec Tue Christmas Day

26 Dec Wed Proclamation Day

31 Dec Mon New Year's Eve *

 

NT

1 Jan Mon New Year's Day

26 Jan Fri Australia Day

30 Mar Fri Good Friday

31 Mar Sat Day following Good Friday

2 Apr Mon Easter Monday

25 Apr Wed Anzac Day

7 May Mon May Day

11 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

29 Jun Fri Borroloola Show Day

6 Jul Fri Alice Springs Show Day

13 Jul Fri Tennant Creek Show Day

20 Jul Fri Katherine Show Day

27 Jul Fri Darwin Show Day

6 Aug Mon Picnic Day

25 Dec Tue Christmas Day

26 Dec Wed Boxing Day

 

Share on

News

Jul 18, 2018

Fairfax Media and News Corp Australia Printing Arrangements

Fairfax Media has written to the Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union (AMWU) today about new arrangements...


Jul 10, 2018

Listeria Outbreak shows the importance of Country of Origin Labelling

In the same week that Country of Origin labelling becomes mandatory, an outbreak of listeria...


Jul 04, 2018

WESTERN SYDNEY BUS FACTORY CLOSES AFTER NSW GOVERNMENT SENDS BUS CONTRACT OFFSHORE

The Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union (AMWU) has been informed that NSW’s last bus manufacturer, Custom...

Happening now