Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

 

JOIN US

Planning your 2019 annual leave

In 2019, we are fighting to Change the Rules.

But when it comes to taking your annual leave, we’re about to teach you how to Game the Rules. Play it right and you can turn your 20 days annual leave into over 40 days off.

The following public holidays will be recognised in every state and territory in Australia in 2019.

1 Jan Tue New Year's Day

28 Jan Mon Australia Day Holiday

19 Apr Fri Good Friday

21 Apr Sun Easter Sunday

22 Apr Mon Easter Monday

25 Apr Thu Anzac Day

25 Dec Wed Christmas Day

26 Dec Thu Boxing Day

1 Jan 2020 Wed New Year’s Day

 

In particular, check out April where Easter and Anzac Day fall in same week. If you take annual leave beginning on Thursday 18 April to Friday 26 April you can get 10 consecutive days off using 3 days annual leave. It’s also worth noting that many workers in the manufacturing industry celebrate a union picnic day on Easter Tuesday, in which case you’d only need to take two days annual leave to get the ten days off (check your workplace agreement to find out if you get a union picnic day or call the AMWU Help Desk on 1300732698).

Likewise, at Christmas and New Year, if you start your annual leave beginning on Friday 19 December until Wed 1 January 2020, you can get 11 consecutive days off using just 5 days annual leave.

The remaining public holidays will vary from state to state and are listed below. Note that most of them fall on a Monday or Friday which is a great opportunity to take extra long weekends or full week’s off.

Remember, taking holidays is an important part of your well-being as an employee. To find out more about the rules on requesting annual leave, check out our previous article on the issue.

Check out the Public Holidays in your state or territory

New South Wales

20 Apr Sat Day following Good Friday

10 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

7 Oct Mon Labour Day

Victoria

11 Mar Mon

20 Apr Sat Day following Good Friday

10 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

27 Sep Fri AFL Grand Final Friday

5 Nov Tue Melbourne Cup Day

Queensland

20 Apr Sat Day following Good Friday

6 May Mon Labour Day

14 Aug Wed Ekka Wednesday

7 Oct Mon Queen's Birthday

Western Australia

4 Mar Mon Labour Day

3 Jun Mon Western Australia Day

30 Sep Mon Queen's Birthday

South Australia

11 Mar Mon March Public Holiday

20 Apr Sat Day following Good Friday

7 Oct Mon Labour Day

ACT

11 Mar Mon Canberra Day

27 May Mon Reconciliation Day

10 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

7 Oct Mon Labour Day

NT

6 May Mon May Day

10 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

28 Jun Fri Borroloola Show Day

5 Jul Fri Alice Springs Show Day

12 Jul Fri Tennant Creek Show Day

19 Jul Fri Katherine Show Day

26 Jul Fri Darwin Show Day

5 Aug Mon Picnic Day

 Tasmania

9 Jan Wed Devonport Cup

11 Feb Mon Royal Hobart Regatta

27 Feb Wed Launceston Cup

5 Mar Tue King Island Show

11 Mar Mon Eight Hours Day

3 May Fri AGFEST

10 Jun Mon Queen's Birthday

4 Oct Fri Burnie Show

10 Oct Thu Royal Launceston Show

18 Oct Fri Flinders Island Show

24 Oct Thu Royal Hobart Show

4 Nov Mon Recreation Day

29 Nov Fri Devonport Show

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share on

News

Oct 01, 2019

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT MUST ACT TO CREATE MANUFACTURING JOBS IN REGIONAL AUSTRALIA

The Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union (AMWU) is recommending an overhaul of policies to promote manufacturing...


Sep 25, 2019

Paul Bastian's Statement to the Senate Inquiry on the Union Busting Bill

I would like to thank the committee for providing the AMWU with the opportunity to...


Aug 21, 2019

SWEET VICTORY FOR CADBURY WORKERS IN FEDERAL COURT CASE

The Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union (AMWU) welcomed the long-awaited decision handed down today by the...

Happening now