Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

 

JOIN US

Plan Your 2017 Holidays

As most of us get back to work after the Christmas break, January is a great time of year to start considering when to take annual leave.

man_in_hammock.jpg

In 2017, a number of public holidays fall around weekends, so if you can time your annual leave effectively, you can get maximum bang for your buck. In particular, April is an ideal month for an extended break in 2017, with Easter and the ANZAC day public holiday falling within a week of each other.

Below is a list of public holidays by state to help you plan your leave for 2017. If you plan it right, you can get up to 50 days off in 2017 using your 20 days of annual leave.

Remember, in 2016 the Fair Work Commission brought in new rules around requesting annual leave from your employer. Depending on how much annual leave you have accrued, your employer cannot refuse your request for annual leave. You can read the full details here.

As your union, we strongly recommend that you take your leave. It is important for your health and a critical part of making you a productive employee. The best strategy is to plan your leave early, so start planning those holidays for 2017!

 

Victoria

Thursday 26 January – Australia Day

Monday 13 March – Labour Day

Friday 14 April – Good Friday

Monday 17 April – Easter Monday

Tuesday 25 April – ANZAC Day

Monday 12 June – Queens Birthday

Friday 29 September – AFL Grand Final Public Holiday

Tuesday 7 November – Melbourne Cup Public Holiday

Monday 25 December – Christmas Day

Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day

 

New South Wales

Thursday 26 January – Australia Day

Friday 14 April – Good Friday

Monday 17 April – Easter Monday

Tuesday 25 April – ANZAC Day

Monday 12 June – Queens Birthday

Monday 2 October – Labour Day

Monday 25 December – Christmas Day

Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day

 

Queensland

Thursday 26 January – Australia Day

Friday 14 April – Good Friday

Monday 17 April – Easter Monday

Tuesday 25 April – ANZAC Day

Monday 1 May – Labour Day

Wednesday 16 August – Royal Queensland Show (Brisbane only)

Monday 2 October – Queens Birthday

Monday 25 December – Christmas Day

Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day

 

Northern Territory

Thursday 26 January – Australia Day

Friday 14 April – Good Friday

Monday 17 April – Easter Monday

Tuesday 25 April – ANZAC Day

Monday 2 May – Labour Day

Monday June 12 – Queens Birthday

Monday 7 August – Picnic Day

Monday 25 December – Christmas Day

Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day

 

South Australia

Thursday 26 January – Australia Day

Monday 13 March – Adelaide Cup Public Holiday

Friday 14 April – Good Friday

Monday 17 April – Easter Monday

Tuesday 25 April – ANZAC Day

Monday 12 June – Queens Birthday

Monday 2 October – Labour Day

Monday 25 December – Christmas Day

Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day

 

Western Australia 

Thursday 26 January – Australia Day

Monday 6 March – Labour Day

Friday 14 April – Good Friday

Monday 17 April – Easter Monday

Tuesday 25 April – ANZAC Day

Monday 5 June – Western Australia Day

Monday 25 September – Queens Birthday

Monday 25 December – Christmas Day

Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day

 

Tasmania

Thursday 26 January – Australia Day

Monday 13 February – Royal Hobart Regatta (Hobart only)

Wednesday 22 February – Launceston Cup (Launceston only)

Monday 13 March – 8 Hour Day Public Holiday

Friday 14 April – Good Friday

Monday 17 April – Easter Monday

Tuesday 25 April – ANZAC Day

Monday 12 June – Queens Birthday

Thursday 12 October – Royal Launceston Show (Launceston only)

Thursday 26 October – Royal Hobart Show (Hobart only)

Monday 6 November – Recreation Day (All but Hobart)

Friday 1 December – Devonport Show (Devonport only)

Monday 25 December – Christmas Day

Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day

 

Australian Capital Territory

Thursday 26 January – Australia Day

Monday 13 March – Canberra Day

Friday 14 April – Good Friday

Monday 17 April – Easter Monday

Tuesday 25 April – ANZAC Day

Monday 12 June – Queens Birthday

Monday 25 September – Family and Community Day

Monday 2 October – Labour Day

Monday 25 December – Christmas Day

Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day

Share on

News

Mar 08, 2017

International Women's Day

Today we mark International Women’s Day, March 8.


Feb 23, 2017

Fair Work Act bad for workers, business: AMWU

By Lorraine Cassin - This piece was first published by Print21  


Feb 10, 2017

Another Win for All Trades Apprentices!

On 7 February 2017, All Trades Queensland Apprentices had another huge win for their wages...

Happening now